Personal Finance App – Data

Acquire
First I thought about categorizing all my myself, by copying and pasting the activity from my Chase account to a Google Spreadsheet.
data_source
That turned to be a hard and slow process. So I got a Mint account to help me with that. Though some spendings were categorized wrong, it definitely saved me a lot of time. After that, I exported the results to a .tsv file.
data_source_2

Parse
I made some quick sketches in Processing just to get a sense of the data an possible problems I could have parsing it.
Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 5.39.46 PM

Screen Shot 2014-03-31 at 1.56.00 PM

For the two sketches, each column is a day, and each rectangle a transaction. They are dimensioned according to the amount of money.
In the first sketch, each line represents a month. In the second one, all data is on the same visual level, and the vertical lines sign a month change.

Leave a Reply

