Delicious Bookmarks

Idea
I’ve been using delicious since 2004. It has been my one and only bookmarking tool since then. I love that it is a tag-based system, what makes much more sense than a folder-based one.
So for Dataviz’s API assignment, I tried to do something with that. The idea was to visualize how my own interests may have changed from 2004 to now.

Development
a) My first iteration with the data was just displaying its full content. Because 1374 links is a lot to display on a single screen, I made it as a pdf static poster:
delicious_ allTags_v1

There’s no much to see in it besides the list itself. 2006 seems to have the larger number of links, but that’s probably because I imported a lot of tags from my browser (IE?) when I began using delicious.

b) So I tried to make a force-directed network graph, based on this code I’ve found, from Karsten Schmidt.
Screen Shot 2014-03-12 at 2.04.16 PMScreen Shot 2014-03-12 at 2.05.14 PM

The left image is Karsten’s original app. The code didn’t work out for my data, because I had too many nodes. The visualization just keeps moving, directed by the repulsion and attraction forces. If I had more time, I would try to fix that.

c) Because my goal was to see some patterns in my interests, I started to work with the tags instead of the links. These iterations are simple attempts to create a sort of tag cloud.
Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 4.14.55 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 5.57.36 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-13 at 4.30.15 PM

That starts to show something — art is probably there because is such a broad term that applies for almost everything I tag. However, that is not much different than delicious’ own visualization. And it doesn’t show any time component, which was the interesting part for me.

d) I started to code a timeline showing tag usage x time. Each column in the bubble chart below displays the number of times a tag was stored in a month.
Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 12.00.10 AM Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 6.14.42 PM Screen Shot 2014-03-14 at 6.14.21 PM delicious_timeline

It might not be the best way to display the data, but is certainly a pretty simple and quick to do one. Once again, the image is too big for a screen version, so the final output is another pdf poster.
Zooming in this image was interesting to me. Some things I found out:
– the giant bubble in the corner is the tag imported. It is a default delicious tag for bookmarks imported from a browser.
Art, illustration and design are tags that appear most frequently — they’re the red and orange ones at the top. Maybe because they’re broad, but may also be a result of things that I am still interested in.
– Technology-related tags are mostly in the blue-purple spectrum. They reflect more recent interests of mine — javaScript, pComp etc.
– Some tags are clearly redundant: data and visualization are two tags, though they always appear together. The same thing for physical and computing.

4 thoughts on “Delicious Bookmarks

      1. right, I used to be able to showcase a certain tag on my website as a tag cloud, and as of March delicious seems to have ended that ability. I want ti display a tag cloud for other to see. cheers.

Leave a Reply

